Provinces of Holland

Holland consists of 12 provincesThey are Limburg, Gelderland, Overijssel, Drenthe, Groningen, Friesland, Flevoland, Utrecht, Noord-Brabant, Zeeland, Zuid-Holland and Noord-Holland.

Each province is responsible for matters of regional or subnational importance. The province is an administrative layer between the local municipalities and national government.


The charming province of Limburg is represented by green hilly countryside. It is located on the very south of the country with the majority of highlights located in Maastricht. Among the most well-known attractions are GaiaPark Kerkrade Zoo, the white village of Thorn, theme parks of Valkenburg including a lot of museums and basilicas.


Gelderland is known to be the largest province in the country. The biggest national park in Holland De Hoge Veluwe is located in this very province. In the park there is the Kröller-Müller Museum which is also worth visiting. It is a home to the large collection of Van Gogh’s paintings.


Overijssel is an extremely beautiful province in any time of the year. The best way to discover it is by foot. In spring and summer it becomes a real cycler’s paradise.  Among the main attractions of the province are National Park Weerribben-Wiede and the towns Zwolle and Deventer.


The province of Drenthe boasts of forests, marshes and even sand dunes. It is one of the most beautiful provinces in the Netherlands. Cyclers from different corners of the world come here to cycle its pass. It is also the place where the Dutch Grand Prix circuit is held.


The capital city of the province is the city named Groningen. It is a nice university city. It became famous all over the world thanks to the appearance of numerous English language programs in the universities if Groningen. This gave the opportunity for students from different corners of Europe come to Groningen to get a good higher education.


It is probably the most unique province in the country. It is characterized by its own language and culture. It is a perfect place for practicing different kinds of sports including watersports. Its main attraction is the Wadden Sea included into the U&NESCO World Heritage Site List.


It is the youngest province in the Netherlands. It boasts of fascinating nature reserves such as Natuurpark Lelystad and Oostvaardersplassen. With incredible architecture, nice shopping areas and numerous opportunities for different kinds of sports the province has something for everyone. 


It is the smallest of all provinces. The capital of the province is the city bearing the same name – Utrecht. It is known for being a university city. In the city and its neighboring villages one will find its main highlights including Dierenpark Amersfoort zoo, palaces and castles. 


The province is known for its friendly people, great nighlife and shopping opportunities including rich culture and history. Among the main highlights of Noord Brabant are Graphic Design Museum, Van Abbemuseum, Jheronimus Bosch Art Centre etc.


Zeeland is extremely loved by both locals and visitors thanks to its nice beaches ideal for summer vacations. Its historical villages and towns are another famous Zeeland’s attractions. 


Zuid-Holland boasts of some of the most iconic Dutch attractions such as Keukenhof Flower Park and windmills of Kinderdijk.  Besides these attractions one can enjoy its famous beaches Scheveningen, Noordwijk or Katwik.

Noord Holland

Noord Holland is the province where its capital city Amsterdam is located. It also consists of typically Dutch villages such as Bloemendaal, Volendam and Alkmaar. For a unique Dutch experience one should visit Zaanse Schans.